आपकी जीत में ही हमारी जीत है
Promote your Business
Home city guide administration in motihari

Administration in Motihari

The city of Motihari in Bihar is the capital of East Champaran District and is one of the most important and rapidly developing Indian cities. It is called as the ‘Karma Bhoomi of Mahatma Gandhi’ as it is believed that this is the birth place of Satyagraha, a movement initiated by Mahatma Gandhi against the British rule in India. It is also known for its association with eminent historic personalities and freedom fighters and is thus a famous historic, religious as well as tourist site. In the year 1972, Champaran district was bifurcated into East Chamaparan and West Champaran, with Motihari city as the headquarters of East Champaran district. The city of Motihari is a part of the Tirhut division and is one of the six sub divisions of East Champaran district. It consists of six blocks namely Banjaria, Kotwa, Motihari, Piprakothi, Sugauli and Turkaulia.

Civil Administration in Motihari

Bihar SealThe city of Motihari falls under the administrative purview of the East Champaran district. The district administration is headed by the district collector who is responsible for a variety of functions including maintenance of law and order, carrying out various development activities, implementing various programmes, co-ordinating among various official agencies, crisis management etc. He is assisted by various officers in discharging his duties. [ For latest on administrative arrangements click here ]

District Magistrate and Collector
Shri Jitendra Srivastava
Phone No: 06252-242700(O), 242800(R)
Mobile No: 9473191301
Fax : 06252-242900

Additional Collector
Sri Bharat Kumar Dubey
Phone No: 9473191302, 06252-232714

Deputy Development Commissioner
Shri Anil Chaudhary
Phone No: 9431818359, 06252-232927, 232397(R)
Email: ddc-motihari-bih@nic.in

Police Administration in Motihari

The city of Motihari has a well organised and a vigilant network of police force headed by the Superintendent of Police. The police officers are strict, upright, honest and dedicated in their approach. They perform various duties like maintaining law and order in the city, preventing antisocial activities, protecting the life and property of the citizens as well as the visitors in Motihari, bringing to justice the guilty etc. The superintendent of police has an able team of police officers, who assist him in his duties.
To know more about Police in Motihari click here .

Superintendent of Police
Shri Sudhir Kumar Singh, IPS
Phone No: 9431822988, 06252-222684, 232683(R)
Email: sp-motihar-bih@nic.in

Town Police Station
Phone No: +(91)-6252-232906

Judiciary in Motihari

The Motihari District Court is under the administrative control of and subject to the appellate jurisdiction of the Patna High Court. This court administers justice at the district level.  As per the available records, the court of Munsif in Motihari started its operations in the year 1832, under the judgeship of Saran in Chhapra district. However, the judgeship of Champaran district was set up in the year 1977. Consequently, the special court dealing with matters pertaining tothe S.C. /S.T. Act has started its operations from the year 1990. In addition, the Permanent LokAdalat was set up in Motihari in the year 2000, dealing with cases related to public utility services.  The family court to deal with cases related to family law was started in the year 2005. Shri Jitendra Srivastava is the current District Magistrate of the East Champaran district.

District Magistrate
Phone No: 06252-242700(O), 242800(R)
Mobile No: 9473191301
Fax : 06252-242900

Public Representatives in Motihari

For the purpose of administrative convenience, various departments have been set up in the city of Motihari. These departments are headed by a team of efficient and qualified officers at various levels, who discharge their duties in a systematic manner. Motihari Lok Sabha seat is one of the 40 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state of Bihar. Its six Vidhan sabha segments include Madhuban, Motihari, Pipra, Gobindganj, Harsiddhi and Keasariya.

Member of Parliament, Purvi Champaran

Shri Radha Mohan (BJP)
Present Address: 94-96, North Avenue, New Delhi - 110 001
Phone No: (011) 23092025, 23093225, 9013180251 (M)
Permanent Address: Gandhi Complex, Station Road, Motihari – 845401
Phone No: (06252) 241210, 09431815551 (M)

Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA), Motihari

Shri Pramod Kumar (BJP)
Phone No: 9431811031

  • E-mail

Comments / Discussion Board - Administration in Motihari

  • r
    rupashree from motihari 1589 Days ago

    I i am happy to get knowledge about motihari.i want to know about our district development officer,his name and his history

    0 0
    Report Abuse
    Motihari.Biharonline.in Expertfrom 1585 Days ago

    Hi! Please visit the below given site to know about the concern authorized person in detail.


    0 0
    Report Abuse